Weekend Away: Okanagan

I spent this past weekend with my partner on his home turf, the Okanagan. It was four days of firsts for me. My first time in the region, my first time meeting his mom, my first time at a demolition derby and my first time being that relaxed in ages.

Saturday. In honour of Thanksgiving we celebrated by eating and sleeping then eating again and then sleeping again.  In between all those strenuous activities, I got a tour of Vernon, did a mead tasting at Planet Bee and spent some time with Kurt’s parents. It was beautiful to see where he gets his generous spirit, his smile and his gift of the gab.

Sunday. After a lazy morning in Vernon, Kurt and I made our way to Armstrong for the annual Armstrong Demolition Derby. At first I was like, this could be cool in an ironic-kitschy way and armstrongdemothen when I got there and it started I was like, this is the absolute best. Demolition derby’s are great. Go to one if you get the chance. After the crashes we made our way past Enderby towards Mabel Lake where Kurt’s family has a cabin.  Beautiful. There’s an airstrip in the area, perfect for walking and a new golf course perfect for having a cold one–$2 pints! We ended our day with dinner back in Vernon at Bai Tong, our Sunday Thai food tradition.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Monday. While irrelevant, I think Kurt would like me to mention that we went for a run on Monday morning. And he did great. It was a beautiful day so we headed to Kalamalka Lake and hiked around there for an hour or so. Then we “went to go run an errand for his parents”. And next thing I know we are at Sparkling Hill Resort. Surprise…and I have the best boyfriend in the world. This place is unreal. There are Swarovski crystals everywhere, an infinity pool over looking Okanagan Lake, and a spa with nine different types of steam rooms and saunas. Seriously. We had an absolutely gourmet meal in the restaurant. It was a perfect afternoon/evening.

sparkling-hill-resort

Tuesday. After the best hotel continental breakfast ever we made our way into Lake Country. Kurt, who doesn’t drink, continued on his run of being the best and drove me around to Arrowleaf, Intrigue, and Gray Monk wineries and watched me get a tiny bit day drunk on Okanagan wines. Afterwards we went into Kelowna for lunch at Earls before flying home. When in Rome, I guess.

lake country

And that was that. Those four days in the Okanagan were wonderful. I’m sure I’ll be back soon enough and I’m already looking forward to it.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Away: Okanagan

Leave a Reply

