Long Weekend Cooking

One of my priorities this Remembrance Day long weekend was to do some cooking. If you’re into easy cooking, healthy ingredients, and over-all deliciousness, then check out these recipes:

1. Kale and Quinoa Salad. (feeds 5 people who eat the same amount as I do)

When I think of Buzzfeed, the first thing that comes to mind is gif-lists about the differences between 20-somethings and 30-somethings. It was while perusing one of these lists last week that I came across this recipe. Believe me, I was as reluctant to try a Buzzfeed recipe as you are, but I did and no regrets. This kale and quinoa salad was fresh and filling and healthy and delicious. Also, easy and inexpensive. I would definitely recommend it.

2. Butter Paneer (feeds 7)

I hear a lot about the miracles of butter chicken and as someone who doesn’t eat chicken I have always been a bit jealous of this delicious meal I could never try. This weekend I decided to take matters into my own hands with this recipe I invented:

Steam: 1 large carrot, 1 head of cauliflower, a bunch asparagus (Personally, I like how carrots and cauliflower taste in Indian food, I only included the asparagus because it was in my fridge. I meant to add peas, but I forgot. You should use whatever veggies you’re into.)

Sautee: 1 small onion, 1 bag mushrooms, 1 package paneer (I used shitake mushrooms, but any kind would be good. Paneer comes packaged like firm tofu and doesn’t need to be cooked. I mostly just threw it in the frying pan because I didn’t know what else to do with it.)

Cook: 1 cup rice or quinoa or blend

When all of the above is complete, mix it all together in a large pot over low heat. Add in a can of chickpeas and a jar of Sharwood (or whatever) butter chicken sauce. I’m sure there is a way to actually make butter chicken sauce from scratch, but let’s be honest, I’m not even close to being there. Stir it it all up and you’ve got dinner!

If and when I try this recipe again I will use a few more veggies and 2 jars of sauce. Use 2 jars anyway if you prefer your meals sauce heavy.

I know it kind of sucks trying a recipe without seeing a photo, but I didn’t take any, so you’re just going to have to take my word on it….Good luck!

Leave a Reply

