Resolution Fail, Kind of

Historically, when I make a New Years Resolution, I make one. I take it seriously. And it sticks. In 2009 I started writing more letters to my Grandma. In 2010 I finished every glass of water I poured myself instead of always dumping the last little bit down the sink. In 2011 I learned how to cook. In 2012 I was pretty happy with my life, so my resolution was just to maintain the awesome. Last January I strayed from my proven successful resolution formula. I made too many resolutions. While it wasn’t a complete failure, it was a black mark on my track record of resolution success. Here’s a recap, if you will.

Don’t get anxiety from an iPhone app 

Success, for the most part. Sometimes it’s hard to close those little social platforms when the anxiousness starts creeping in, but I’ve done pretty well. There is a whole half-written blog post on this topic when the time is right.

Sleep

Fail, unfortunately. Insomnia is something that haunts me from time to time, and I tried everything I could think of in 2013 to get it in check, but it didn’t happen. Here’s hoping 2014 will be the year. Preferably early 2014.

Don’t eat after 7pm

Fail. Dumb resolution.

Run 1900km

Huge fail. I was on track for the first 4 weeks of 2013, but then I started dating my boyfriend and having a boyfriend, friends, 2 jobs and trying run those distances just wasn’t something my constitution could handle. This was such a huge fail in fact, that in March I revised my resolution to:

Enter no races in 2013 (other than the TC10K)

A much bigger success. And life was so much less overwhelming when I didn’t have to add training to my schedule.

Don’t be busy

I’m going to rule this one as a half success, half failure. I did spend a lot of time alone, which I loved. But at the same time, there was a lot going on in 2013–weddings, travel, 50-60 hour work weeks, fitness, friends, my man, etc. It was kind of impossible not to be at least a little busy.

So that’s where I’m sitting with my resolutions at the end of the year. I’m going to take this as a lesson learned and stick with just one for 2014……

Leave a Reply

