2014 Resolution Success?

And my one, singular, task oriented 2014 New Year’s Resolution is….

Watch less TV

I love TV. I hate this resolution, but it has to be done. I’ve caught myself falling into Netflix black holes fairly regularly this past year. It would not be unusual for me to wake up at 8:30 AM on a Saturday morning, turn on the Good Wife and consume six episodes without thinking twice. I’m all for solo down time, but I’ve been walking the fine line between relaxing and complete laziness. I still want a lot of downtime in 2014, but I want it to be spent reading, doing yoga, listening to the radio, going for walks or anything other than staring at yet another screen for more hours in the day.

Just because I only have one resolution for 2014 doesn’t mean I don’t have big plans. I’ve got financial goals. To save 10% of my take home income in an RRSP and TFSA. I’ve got some travel plans. Texas, Republic of Congo, somewhere in Europe, all sorts of nooks and crannies in the Pacific Northwest and maybe even Newfoundland, though I’m waiting to see how many more friends get diamond rings this season before I commit to too much time away. I want to get back into shape and run some races. TC10K, a half-marathon and a trail race. And I’ve even got some existential aspirations. More spontaneity, less planning. More positivity too. While there are benefits to being a risk-mitigating realist, there is no benefit to seeing what can go wrong before anything else. But when it comes to resolutions, I’m sticking to just one: watch less TV. It’s going to suck, at least at first, but I’ll do it. I’ll figure it out.

2 thoughts on “2014 Resolution Success?

  1. lol I love this. Yes we all have big plans but sometime you just gotta break it down into some basic. I can totally get into a Netflix marathon (currently binging on Revenge), but I do tend to only watch at night for a couple of hours. I justify it by not going out and spending money that way, however, I’m sure I could make other productive uses of my time. It has to get me away from the computer though. Too much time spent there. Good luck with your goal! PS I’m thinking about doing a 10 mile run in Texas!

Leave a Reply

