I Invented My Own Fitness Challenge

The Challenge: The aptly named 6 Week Fitness Challenge

The Plan: Exercise every day for 6 weeks (January 5- February 15)

The Goal: Simply to get moving again. I’ve let exercise and fitness drop in priority over the last couple of months, this challenge brings it back to the forefront of my life. It gets me back into the habit of making time for exercise and doing it regularly.

The Details: A minimum of 30 minutes of exercise every day for six weeks. The activities can be anything–walk, run, hike, swim, yoga. While 6 straight weeks of exercise does sound kind of daunting, there is no pressure to really challenge myself. If I went for a 30 minute walk every day, that would be a success. Another great part of this challenge is the high likelihood of boredom if I stick to my usual hiking and running. I’m sure that doing the same thing over and over again will get me exploring other options, different yoga classes, swimming, squash….so many new hobbies to uncover. Just no team sports. I don’t do team sports.
 g
The Exception: If I get sick, those days are exempt. Plus three rest days to use, if needed, whenever I want.
 j
So far: So good! Most of my activities have been shorter distance runs (under 10km), moderate hikes and 30-45 minute yoga classes. Katie (my super fit best friend) has kicked my butt a few times and tonight I’m going to attempt to play squash. So yeah, so far so good.
3 thoughts on “I Invented My Own Fitness Challenge

  1. Pingback: Completed: 6 Week Fitness Challenge | The Love of Gadgetry

Leave a Reply

