Happy Monday

Not that this is the kind of thought that requires confidence, but, I’m pretty confident that Friday is my favourite blog reading day. So many bloggers out there take the time on Friday to share fun events from their week, their favourite links and often just random thoughts. I love that stuff. But shouldn’t Monday get a little love too? Yeah, going back to getting up early and having 8+ hours of your day unavailable for doing whatever you want kind of sucks. But isn’t that all the more reason to share some happy/fun/inspiring things on Mondays? Here’s my attempt:

For your eyes: It’s award season in Hollywood. I don’t really care, as I don’t have cable or anything emotionally invested in who wins best picture or whatever. That said, I love the red carpet reviews that come from one my favourite bloggers, Brienne Walsh, during this celebratory time of year. She’s  just brilliant and she makes me laugh. She did the Grammy’s last night and the SAG Awards, whenever they were. I’ve been reading her blog so long it’s become something I really look forward to.

For your ears: It’s no secret that I’m a CBC fan. It was the soundtrack to my youth and it’s transitioned itself nicely into the soundtrack to my adulthood. Radio 1, Radio 2, even online Radio 3, I love and listen to it all.  One of my easy favourites happens every Sunday night at 8PM–The Strombo Show on Radio 2. Next to my boyfriend, it’s my number 1 source of new music. He plays a little of everything–old, new, punk, hip hop, folk. What other radio program will you hear BIBLICAL, Teenage Kicks, Fatlip, Nina Simone and The Proclaimers all on one episode? I’m seriously asking, because if there is another one I’d love to know.

For your health: I’m first and foremost a solo runner, but lately I’ve been going out on weekly runs with Katie. There is no question that Katie is more fit than me. I could train my hardest for 6 months while she sat on the couch eating donuts and she’d still be more fit than me. She’s my best friend though, so I don’t hate her. And, it turns out that running with someone who is faster than you is an AMAZING workout. A 6km run on my own is moderate at best, but alongside her it is one of my hardest workouts of the week. If you’re looking for a new way to challenge yourself, I would definitely suggest doing your regular activity with someone who outranks you just a little.

For the win: Things have shifted for me this past week as I’ve gone from craving time at home alone to real life social time with people other than just those closest to me. I spent a lot of the winter at home by myself. Being alone is awesome. But recently it’s started to get a little boring for me. This past weekend I ditched my usual routine of a hiking and movies and packed, like, 10 fun things into those 48 hours. It was great and I can’t wait to do it again!

Happy Monday. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday

  1. I love awards season!!! Right now I’m trying to catch up on all the oscar-y movies before the awards shows. I just watched Captain Phillips this past weekend and enjoyed it. I know what you mean about starting to feel social. I need to start making that happen because I’m starting to feel like a troll. I still have tax season to get through, but Im looking forward to when wed. night beach volleyball class starts to give my social life a boost.

Leave a Reply

