Happy Monday!

I’ll be honest, last Monday I was ready to throw in the towel on this week. It started off sleepless and I just wasn’t ready to go through that again. But I’ve been trying a new solution and so far…..well, knock on wood. For me, getting enough sleep will totally turn the world around. I did have to cancel my 1 year anniversary dinner date with Kurt, but other than that, I got to keep all my super fun social plans. It was a really good week.

  • For your eyes While I don’t entirely agree, I did like this article in Vice about what it’s like for a woman to turn 30. While I’ve never been in an industry where looks and youth carry the weight that they do for the author, I definitely get where she’s coming from, albeit in a much less exaggerated way.
  • For your ears I love cover songs. I love The Big Chill. I love The Smalls. So obviously I love this.
  • For your health I recently needed to see a doctor on short notice. I couldn’t get an appointment with my GP and the value I place on my time is far too inflated for me to go to a walk in clinic. I tried Medeo, a new service available free to all Canadians.  I created an account and made an appointment. I spoke with a person and the whole thing took less than 10 minutes. When I logged in later to Skype with my doctor, he was there. No waiting. And he sent my prescription directly to my local pharmacy. The whole thing was so seamless I can’t even believe it. I would absolutely recommend this service to any Canadian.
  • For the win So many great things happened this week, it’s almost hard to pick one best thing. I started sleeping again. I had a great mid-week date with Katie where we went running and then ate cronuts. I went the Ukrainian Cultural Centre for their monthly community dinner with a group of close friends (PEROGIES)!  I went on a last minute trip to Vancouver to see White Denim, one of Kurt’s favourite bands. Like I said, so much great stuff. But the ultimate winning moment was easy–Kurt and I celebrated the 1 year milestone in our relationship. It doesn’t get any better than life with him.

I hope this last week was great for you and the one coming up is even better! Happy Monday!

8 thoughts on “Happy Monday!

    • First, and most importantly, cronuts are worth the hype. And you just ran really long way. You definitely deserve one. 🙂

      I’ve started a new prescription, it’s working and I have a follow up appointment next week. I don’t think it’s a silver bullet, but at least I’m sleeping. Before this though I had some success with a GABA about 30-60 before bed and a dissolvable melatonin right before. I would also take both if I woke up in the middle of the night and felt like I wouldn’t be able to fall back to sleep. I got pretty decent sleep for about 3 weeks.

      Good luck!

  1. Hey there, Medeo Research Coordinator here. I am very happy to hear that you had a good experience and that you would recommend Medeo to other Canadians!

    I just wanted to mention that Medeo does not use Skype for our video-conference client. Skype sends data down to servers in the USA, which the NSA has “boundless informant” authority to query. The data available to the NSA from Skype/Microsoft includes your video/audio feeds/recordings, files, location, usage statistics, contact lists, interaction history and more (as elucidated in the Snowden Files).

    Instead, Medeo has built the secure platform to utilize WebRTC for videoconferences, running on servers in British Columbia, such that no data leaves Canada. It is our opportunity to ensure that your private medical data stays private. Please reach out with any questions, or just to keep the conversation going 🙂

    Thanks for the positive feedback!

Leave a Reply

