Happy Monday

Sometimes it’s baffling how quickly things change. It wasn’t so long ago that I had so many social commitments that my apartment served only as a glorified closet and sleeping space. Today I am not like that.  Not at all. Today it’s rare that I muster up enough energy for one mid-week event.  And since gaining back my Friday nights in December I’ve really been enjoying having more time on the weekend just to be calm. Does this mean I’m getting old and boring? Maybe, but I don’t think I mind that much. What I do know is that the quality of my social life has definitely improved. It’s definitely a different story spending time with someone when I’m not half thinking about the next thing in my schedule. I have to say, I’m enjoying it. This past week was totally reflective of quality over quantity reigning supreme.

For your eyes: My whole intention behind this was to share some intelligent and relevant article that made me think over the past week. Not today. Today is just all about how cool the internet is and how great it is to be Canadian: A Curated Anthology of Donuts

For your ears: Between March 21 and April 12, I’m going to be spending lots of time on planes, so I’m in the market for some new music to add to my collection. I pay for most of my music, so I’m trying to give everything a good listen before I decide which purchases to go with. My current top contenders: Basia Bulat, Beck, Damien Jurado, Ryan Bingham, Volcano Choir, Valerie June and The Shouting Matches. What am I missing? Tell me some music to listen to!

For your health: We’ve sprung ahead! My list of excuses not to go for a trail run after work  just got way shorter. I’m so happy to be able to have the daylight for this.

For the win: On Friday night I gathered with a handful of my favourite people for the  Art Gallery of Greater Victoria’s Urbanite. These quarterly events have been happening for several years now, and they are always just great. I got to put on a pretty dress, drink some white wine, and look at beautiful art. While I planned to (and did) attend with Katie, Megan et al I also got to run into some wonderful people that I haven’t remained as close with over the years, and that was awesome. Victoria is a small town with some great residents and it’s so fun to be reminded of that in such a beautiful space.

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday

Leave a Reply

