Fernwood vs Rockland

I’m moving tomorrow. Not far, seven blocks south and two blocks west, but in Victoria that is a whole new neighbourhood. After three great years I’m leaving Fernwood and putting down roots in Rockland. Even though it’s only a 10-minute walk or a 2-minute drive from my old home to my  new, the amenities in the 5-minute walk radius is changing and that’s kind of exciting.

Neighbourhood Coffee Shop
Old: I used to get coffee and a cookie at the Parsonage every day. I don’t go there any more but I’m sure it’s still great.
New: Bubby Roses and Picnic, two of my all-time favourites less than a 100M sprint away.

Neighbourhood Pub
Old: I’ve seen some awesome bands and played some mean rounds of Tuesday night bingo at Logan’s.
New: Argyle Attic rules, the food is good, the staff is great. I hope my close proximity increases the frequency of my visits.

Neighbourhood Thai
Old: Little Thai Place for Penang Curry and Pad Thai.
New: Little Thai Place. Technically there is another Thai place much closer to my new house, but I don’t care. I’m ever loyal to this food.

Neighbourhood Grocer
Old: I can’t tell you how many times I’ve purchased yogurt past the best before date at Wellburn’s, I once even helped a meth head pick out an avocado.
New: Oh, Market on Yates, I’m so excited to have you and all your fresh produce, baked goods and organic everything right at my fingertips.

Neighbourhood Running Route
Old: You can’t beat running the hills of Mount Stephen-Fernwood-Cedar Hill-Roseberry-Avebury.
New: Honestly, I don’t know yet, but considering the only things standing between the ocean and my new home is a mostly flat road and millions of flowers, I’ve got a pretty good idea of where I’ll be going.

When I leave Fernwood I’ll be leaving behind numerous free piles and abandoned furniture and front lawn sculptures and weird old people that walk around blowing bubbles. Admittedly on the surface my new neighbourhood is a lot less interesting, but man, is it ever beautiful. And you never know what interesting characters and quirks I’ll manage to find with a little exploration.

And let’s be honest, in the grand scheme of things, what’s 9 blocks?

Leave a Reply

