Happy Monday….from a busy 32-year-old

I had one of those weeks at work where every day is full and exciting and challenging. The kind of week where your ToDo list just keeps getting longer and more detailed, but everything on there is just so freaking awesome you don’t mind the busyness. It was great. And my parents were here this past week too, pulling the old “coming for the weekend” line and staying until Thursday. Because of the whole workload-induced braindeadness thing I didn’t really give them my best self, but they understood. They’re good parents.

In addition to working my butt off and hanging with John and Diane (dad and mom), I also celebrated my 32nd birthday on Saturday. My birthday weekend kicked off on Friday night with Thai take out and Netflix with Kurt. Throw in an early bedtime and it was the exact way I wanted to spend my last night as a 31-year-old. I made up for it on Saturday night though,with a pizza (and wine) party with a handful of my closest friends. It was a great way to kick off 32. If friends, wine and pizza are any indication of what the year has in store, then bring it on!

For your eyes I started reading All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews this past week. I’m only 3 chapters in, but I can already tell it’s going to be in my top-10-favourite-books-of-all-time.

For your ears John K Samson and The Weakerthans have always reminded me of Miriam Toews’ writing, this song in particular. I like to think they hang out together in Winnipeg. 

For your health Since I recommitted to getting back in shape 1 month ago, I’ve lost 10 lbs! The absolute number one thing keeping me motivated through all of this has been the progress I’ve been making. Seeing the numbers on the scale go down each week has me just wanting to keep eating healthy and pushing myself in my runs. That’s what made this past week so hard. Early in the week I met Katie for a trail run and about 10 minutes in I had to stop and walk. I just didn’t have it in me, that day or any other day this week. So for the entire week I didn’t run, I opted for easy hikes or yoga classes or straight up rest days instead. Listening to your body is so, so important. That’s something that I love about yoga–you’re constantly reminded that where you are in your practise today might not be where you were last week or where you are next week and that’s okay, just listen to your body and do what you can. Unless you’re an elite athlete, that same mindset should be applied to running. And all other sports. Listen to your body and do what you can.

For the win I bought a pant suit as a birthday gift to myself. I’ve wanted a pant suit for a long time, but they’re almost always too short or too baggy on me and then on my birthday I found the perfect one. I look like I could be in Scarface. I’m happy.

4 thoughts on “Happy Monday….from a busy 32-year-old

  1. Happy birthday! I’m one-month away from turning 31 and I’m already planning my birthday weekend!

    Congrats on progress you’re making with your health! I keep saying that I want to be a runner again, but I’ve haven’t even so much as gone for a walk yet this spring… Everyone tells me that I really need to get into yoga, but I just can’t make myself like it. Or maybe it’s because I just can’t get my mind to shut up? 🙂

    • Thanks! I sweat it’s all from My Fitness Pal, it makes being aware of your calorie intake vs expenditure so easy, whether you want to gain, lose or just maintain, it’s awesome!

      I have a heard time with yoga too, my brain is always running. I’ve mentioned it on here before, but I now subscribe to yoga glow and it’s awesome. I just do 20-30 minute classes….45 if I’m really feeling up for it. I love it.

    • Yeah! I’m not the only one! I like to imagine they’re best friends and have dinner together all the time. Man, what I wouldn’t give to be at one of those dinners. Do you listen to Wiretap too? I think Jonathan could also be a strong part of their crew.

Leave a Reply

