Best Summer Yet…

Oh heck yes. The summer of 2014 is prime to be my best one in years and I am so freaking excited about it. Why, you wonder? Well, there are three glaringly obvious reasons:

  1. I only have 1 job and don’t usually work much more than 40 hours a week. This time last year I was lucky if I logged less than 55 hours between my two jobs. It’s hard to enjoy all the extras of summer when you barely have free time. At least it was for me.
  2. I’m not carrying any debt. We all know summer is expensive, but my goodness, it is so much less stressful when you’re not worrying about how all the fun activities are going to set you back in your debt repayment schedule.
  3. I’ve been more or less insomnia free since January. This is the longest I’ve ever gone without sleeplessness and it’s absolutely amazing. There will be a blog post on this in the next month or so.

Plus I’m committing myself to the following:

This summer I will enjoy all the things. You know what I mean by things right? BBQ’s, out of town guests, weddings, festivals, weekends away. Summer things. This year I’m committing to really enjoying each and every one of them. Last summer I caught myself feeling so burnt out that I was actually dreading all these awesome summer things as they approached in my calendar. Like, ugh another BBQ with my awesome friends tonight? I’d rather not. This summer will not be like that.

This summer I will not get trapped in routine. I love routine, so much so that I have the tendency to get overly attached to it. This just doesn’t jive with the summer months, months filled with last minute plans to play lawn games in the park and months filled with vacations and friends in town. Being married to the notion that, for example I do an 8km trail run every Wednesday is not going to work. This summer I’m going to take a chill pill and be more willing to go with the flow.

On that note, this summer I will be more spontaneous.  This summer I want to detach myself from plans and assumptions and just roll with it, say yes to to fun last minute invitations with excitement instead of stress. Or say no when it’s not how I want to be spending my time.

This summer I will strive for balance. In the midst of all the things and good times and spontaneity, I still want to have time for what’s important to me and what keeps me centred–time with my most important people, exercise, and quiet time to myself. This summer I won’t get swept away, instead I’ll stay grounded by prioritizing what keeps me that way.

Happy Summer Solstice!

 

3 thoughts on “Best Summer Yet…

  1. Pingback: Happy Monday…happy summer | The Love of Gadgetry

  2. Pingback: Happy Monday…on Wednesday | The Love of Gadgetry

Leave a Reply

