Happy Monday…happy summer

So, it’s officially summer and that’s rad. Despite the officialness of it all, my week was rather unsummerlike. ย I mean it was, but it wasn’t. There were no weddings, no BBQs, no friends from out of town. There was however, plenty of time outside enjoying the long summer nights, some farmer’s market shopping and fresh flower picking and plenty of face time with those that mean the most to me.

I’m happy to say that with regards toย the summer goals I made for myself the other day, I am right on track. I saw an opportunity for balance this week and I took it. I embraced the downtime and held it near. And I even threw in some spontaneity late Sunday afternoon. ๐Ÿ™‚

Full disclosure: I’m trying so hard not toย list off what I did this week because I know it would be horrendously boring for anyone who doesn’t know me. Or anyone who is not me, really.

So with that I’ll just stop.

For your eyes: 35 Practical Steps Men Can Take to Support Feminism. I can’t tell you how much I loved this. Men, if you truly believe in gender equality, please read this. And if there is anything on this list that you don’t already do, start doing it.

For your ears: This is perfect.ย 

For your health: I don’t know what to say. It’s summer. I’ve been getting outside a lot for runs and hikes and that’s great. I’ve also been taking rest days instead of pushing myself when I probably could have been pushing myself. I’ve been eating mostly healthy but also eating out a lot and really enjoying that. I don’t know. Balance?

For the win: I made my first financial investment last week. I’ve been contributing to an RRSP for quite a few years now, but it’s never done anything other than just sit there. On Thursday I went in to increase my monthly contributions and take that money and put it some place that might offer me more than 1% return. I opted for a low-moderate risk mutual fund. It was terrifying and a small first step.

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday…happy summer

  1. Congrats on moving your money around! I have a few mutual fund portfolios, and just opened my first one with a medium-high risk. I am trying to NOT think about it, because that risk level does terrify me, even though I think the portfolio will perform well. Anyway, great first step! Can’t wait to hear where your risk level lies in the next couple years. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Cait…sometimes I wonder if I hadn’t found your blog, and subsequently other personal finance blogs, if I’d even be investing at all. So thanks! I’m going to stick to this one investment for a year and then reassess…perhaps take a little more risk. I’ve got a lot to learn before I get there though. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

