If it isn’t broke, you can’t fix it

When I heard this song for the first time back in 2005, I thought it was the most romantic thing I had ever heard. I didn’t even care that it was a top 40 pop song, it took my breath away. It made me want to be broken, want to find someone who would fix me, find someone who could make me whole.

And it took me almost 8Β years to realise how stupid that was.

Chuck Klosterman, an author whom I enjoy, describes Coldplay as a British pop group whose success derives from their ability to write melodramatic alt-rock songs about fake love. What matters is that Coldplay manufactures fake love as frenetically as the Ford Motor Company manufactures Mustangs.Β 

Still is a pretty song though.

 

Leave a Reply

