Happy Sunday

I haven’t done one of these in awhile, so why not do one now? Here are a few things that are making me happy these days:

TV.  I love fall TV. Our friends came over last night for a glass of wine and I think we talked about TV for about 35% of the time. The shows that I’m particularly addicted to: The Mindy Project, Nashville, The Good Wife, Newsroom and Madam Secretary. I don’t watch Scandal but I’d like to start. If you also love TV programs with strong and complicated female leads, you should check out this: The Female Bad Fan.

In a World. The best movie I’ve seen in a long time. 

Hozier. My favourite album of the year so far. 

Bikes. A few weeks ago I participated in the Ride for Refuge. A national cycling fundraiser event that raises money for the vulnerable and displaced. I have to admit, when that 6:30 AM alarm went off on a Saturday morning, I has not the happiest girl around. But once I got out there on my bike, riding 25 km through West Saanich and Brentwood Bay, there wasn’t much that could make me happier. I live in one of the most bike friendly cities in the country, there is no excuse for not doing this more.

Galey Farms Corn Maze and Haunted House. This is pretty Victoria, BC specific. But if you live on the island you’ve got to go here. So terrifying. So good.

Bahamas. On Thursday I joined my friend Megan and the rest of Victoria at the sold out Bahamas concert, his Canadian tour kick off. I’ll be honest, I was expecting good but boring, but that’s not what it was. It was good and beautiful and awesome. If you’re Canadian, odds are he’ll be making his way through your city soon. Go!

Who We Are. Green Party Leader Elizabeth May’s new book. I had the privilege of hearing this inspiring and eloquent woman read from Who We Are on Saturday and wow. Her national book tour is currently under way. Be sure to check it out if you get the opportunity.

 

4 thoughts on “Happy Sunday

Leave a Reply

