Personal Finance?

I want to write about personal finance, but I don’t know how. I don’t know what to say or how to make it interesting. When I had debt it was easier. I had a goal, I could update my progress, I would fail or I would succeed and I would talk about why. Things are less interesting now. I mean, I’m in a way better place financially, but it’s less interesting to write about. I’ve reduced my necessary spending to about 35% of my take home. I have 10% go into long term savings automatically. The remaining 55% goes into living my life. Sometimes I have a bit left over and when I do I split it 4 ways for 4 different goals (travel, clothes, long term, and general). Since getting out of debt 11 months ago, I’ve managed to save 19% of my take home salary. Things are good. I could have been more frugal, but I would have had less fun, so there’s that.

But, now what?

I love my life how it is. I’m not willing to make drastic changes, to stop going for drinks with friends or going to concerts or travelling. But there are definitely some subtle things I could be doing to cut back on my spending and save more at the end of each month. I don’t have a number goal in mind at this time, but I do have a plan. As a card-carrying member of Generation Y, I respond well to public bragging and public shame. So I will do that here. I will share my wins so you can all applaud me. And I will share the losses, in the hope that doing so will decrease the number of losses I make.

Examples?

Win: Booking my Christmas day flight to Vernon, BC with my Amex Gold card. This card allows you to cash points in for any travel. ANY. So I did that here. Savings: $176

Loss: On Wednesday I was grumpy. Work was intense, I had a hard time leaving it at the door. Maybe my hormones were acting up too. So instead of meditating, going for a run or generally getting a grip, I went to the liquor store and bought a bottle of Malbec. Loss: $13

So that’s that. Starting today this blog is going to hold me accountable (again). Ok. Go.

Leave a Reply

